RI Invite Big Countries For Reducting Emission

Posted by arihermawan4121 on Wednesday, November 10, 2010

The Indonesian government to expand the involvement of major powers to support the program of emissions reductions from reducing emissions from deforestation and forest degradation (REDD). Previous Indonesian cooperation with the Norwegian government will be compounded by Canada, the United States, Britain and Australia.

This is expressed by a spokesman for Vice President Boediono, Yopie Hidayat told reporters after accompanying the vice president met with Canadian Finance Minister James H. Flaherty in Vice President Palace, Jakarta, Tuesday (09/11/2010).

"One of the materials discussed with the Vice Minister of Finance Canada including Vice President for Canada's bid to participate in emissions reduction program in Indonesia through REDD program," said Yopie.

According Yopie, though interested, the Canadian government will first study the program. "Canadian Finance Minister admitted still going to see more bids are given Canadians had just 10 percent reduction in emissions," he said.

In addition to Norway, added Yopie, Indonesia also has offered the United States, Britain and Australia. "They all expressed interest," said Yopie.

As known, on his working visit in Oslo, Norway, last May, the government of Indonesia and Norway signed an agreement on the REDD program. For the implementation of the program, the Norwegian government pledged commitment to a fund of 1 billion U.S. dollars when Indonesia conducted emissions reductions.

In the same place President Head of Unit for Monitoring and Control Development (UKP4) Kuntoro, who is also Chairman of the Task Force on Establishment of REDD said the progress of cooperation with Norway has been very forward about follow-REDD.

"Now we're in the process of selecting one of the nine provinces that will be the main project emissions reductions," he said.

According to Kuntoro, from the previous five provinces now increased to nine provinces. The five provinces are Riau, Aceh, Papua, East Kalimantan and West Kalimantan. There are also other additional provinces include West Papua. Jambi and South Sumatra and Central Kalimantan.

"We are also now in the process of establishing the agency and prepare the organization that will monitor, report and verify the emission reductions through avoided deforestation and forest destruction," he said.

Task Force, according to Kuntoro, also has prepared its financial regulatory mechanism for the management of REDD. "Provincial election will be conducted later this year," he said.

{ 0 comments... read them below or add one }

Post a Comment

Live Link Will Be Deleted!

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...